Road Bike Blues

I got the blues.

The road-bike blues.

I got the my-knee-done-broke-down-and-I-can’t-ride-my-road-bike blues.

I got the my-knee-done broke-and-I-can’t-ride-my-road-bike-and-I’m-broke-as-a-joke-and-I-can’t-afford-a-new-one blues.

Okay. Admittedly, that might be a bit dramatic.

So, I saw the physical therapist today. She twisted my knee all around, had me do some exercises, did some electrotherapy and said that it’s my ligament that’s hurting. (NOT my meniscus, which is a good thing.) The issue is that she doesn’t know *why* it’s hurting. It could be a number of things, but none of them are clearly the cause. It could be that I have a fairly high arch and my shoes aren’t supportive enough, but she doubts it (because it’s really pretty normal). It could be that I have (insert fancy medical term here), which means my knees hyper-extend a bit and my knee caps go in a bit, but she says it’s fairly common in women and it’s not bad enough to explain the knee pain.

It could be from the incident earlier this summer where a pedestrian forced me to fall over with my bike to avoid hitting them. She said I might have tweaked my knee when that happened and it could have causes some scar tissue to build up on the ligament, which is now hurting. It could also be because my current road bike doesn’t fit me very well. The knee pain started fairly shortly after switching to that bike. So, she wants me to lay off the road bike (I can still ride my hybrid) until I see her again next week to see if that makes a difference.

So for now, it’s exercises, no road bike, avoiding lots of stairs, trying not to bend my knee more than 90 degrees, and we’ll wait and see. She might also do an ultrasound next week to break up any scar tissue that might be in there. We’re going to give it a few weeks, and if the pain doesn’t go away, she’ll have me see the sports med doctor.

I don’t think it’ll come to that, though. The electrotherapy actually helped a bit; no aching at all when I got off my bike or after walking around campus.Win!

This does mean I’m right about the fact that I can’t stick with my current road bike long term. The good news is that my parents offered to lend me some money toward a new road bike. I’m still not positive I’ll be able to swing the rest, but it at least puts it in the realm of the possible. I’m going to test ride a couple of Fujis this weekend, check out the fit of them, etc.

And yes. That is a Blues Brothers cycling jersey.

3 responses to “Road Bike Blues

  1. Yup, those pesky ligaments…I knew she’d be able to figure it out, even if you weren’t hurting at the moment. Sounds like you’ll be feeling better soon.

  2. I’m glad your physical therapist is trying to find out what’s causing it – hopefully it’s something that’s fairly easily fixable so you don’t have to have pain so much!

    I’m also so glad to hear that you may be one step closer to the new bike. Baby steps and you’ll get there hon. You deserve it so I really do hope it doesn’t fall through 🙂

  3. Pingback: Letters from the Bike Path (and Gearing Up!) | See Say cycle.

Leave a Reply

