I win!!!

I totally just bought this bike.

Yesssssss. Here’s how it went down. Inventories were running low, so I decided that if I was going to get a bike, now’s the time to do it, as it would save me money in the long run. I may end up needing to borrow some money from my parents, but perhaps not. We’ll see.

I got it at Performance Bikes, and I must say, I was quite pleased with them. There was no pressure to purchase, and they didn’t make me feel like they were judging me for being a pretty new cyclist. They also didn’t try to sell me more than they needed. I went in saying that I was considering the Fuji Newest 1.0 or 2.0, but I didn’t want to buy more than I needed. The salesperson told me the 2.0 – which is the somewhat cheaper model – would be fine for my needs. (The Newest models go from 1.0-4.0.) So, on sale, it was $650, which is less than I thought I was going to spend. And, it’s really a $1000 bike, but yay for year-end sales!!

It’s not *quite* as aesthetically pleasing as the 1.0, but I feel more comfortable with the amount of money I spent. Also, Performance Bikes offers free lifetime adjustments on any new bikes purchased at their stores. Sweet deal!

Turns out my frame size was an xsmall, not just a small. (Unless they’re specifically marked as women’s models, road bikes are generally sized for men. Yay, male-dominated sport!) I test road an xsmall in the 1.0, and it was a great fit. They had to order it online to get that frame size in the 2.0, and *there were only five left*. That sealed the deal. So, I paid for it today, and they said they should get it later this week, then they’re going to build it up and give me a call.

Squeeeeeee!!!!!!!

Oh! Also, on the bike path today, I once again saw The Piano Peddler. Today he was actually playing the keyboard *while* riding. I also saw a fellow riding along writing on a notepad while riding. He, however, was swerving ALL over the bike path. Impressive, dude, but NOT cool!

8 responses to “I win!!!

  1. YAY! Sweet looking bike! Although too fast and scary for me and my old back needs the upright hybrid. But YAY for you!!! I know how much you were wanting that new bike!! Fall bike rides……ahhhhhh……enjoy!

    • I’m sure that at some point I’ll get going down a hill or something and be like, “Oh shit!!! I’m gonna diiiiiiie!” But, I can’t lie, I’m pretty excited to (politely!) zoom past people on the bike path. hehe

      I’ve been riding my upright hybrid all week, per physical therapist’s orders. I love my hybrid, but I think of it as my “pleasure craft.” It’s like I was in a speed boat, and now I’m in a pontoon boat all of the time.

  2. Yay – I’m so happy for you! You *so* deserve this 🙂

  3. Interesting comparison between speed boat and pontoon. On our lake, we have quite a few of those “party boats.” We make fun of them when they try to go fast and pull skiers or tubes behind them. We buzz past them in our our sporty speed boat. It’s fun. We like it!

    But when I’m on a bike, give me the pontoon, baby! Make fun of me all you want as you pass me on your fancy triathlon bike with the carbon fiber wheels and such……but I still finish. Not fast. Not pretty. But I get there. Just like the pontoon boat! 😉

    (of course I know that *YOU* are not making fun of me….I was speaking generally…. )

    • Haha. Don’t you worry, I ride my pontoon boat when I commute to school, around town, etc. Though actually, now that I’m over-thinking this (as I do!), I think a single-speed cruiser would be more like a pontoon boat, huh? A hybrid would be more like . . . a “regular boat.” (Haha. We’re quickly reaching the extent of my knowledge – I think I mean a motor boat.)

      Also, you’re still the triathlete! That just blows my mind, regardless of my bike!

  4. So cool! Have fun with your new bike! Don’t forget your fuel for fun! ❤

Leave a Reply

