Back in the saddle!

And boy, does it feel good!! My commute to/from campus on Thursday was wonderful. I took my road bike to Performance Bikes on Friday to get it adjusted (yay, free lifetime adjustments!), and I had wonderful rides yesterday and today as well.

Also, I may have totally geeked out for a moment in Performance. You see, this winter some of us volunteered to take pictures with our bike helmets for a Consider Biking brochure. I had kind of forgotten about it, when lo and behold, what did I see there in the bike store? This!:

Do you see me, do you see me? (Of course, these are just somewhat crappy scans from my printer; the print versions are much lovelier!)

On my way home from school on Thursday, I decided to swing by the grocery store on the way home. I didn’t feel like taking off my helmet, and all that jazz. Also, because it was a commuting ride, it meant that I was in my regular clothing, and therefore had reflector tape around the bottoms of my pant legs, so that they wouldn’t catch anything while riding.

So, basically what this means is that I wandered around the grocery store with my head looking like this:

(Vegan “cheese” in hand.)

And my feet/legs looking like this:

(Can’t you just feel the white socks beckoning you?)

It was then that it struck me. If you have a fear of looking silly – which I do – taking up cycling is the PERFECT exposure therapy! Because, eventually, you normalize looking this way – or you just get a little lazy – and next thing you know, you’re walking around looking like this. Or, even better, you’re walking around in padded butt bike shorts.

So, the people around you get a chuckle, and you get over your fear of looking silly. It’s a win-win!!

3 responses to “Back in the saddle!

  1. Your smile is gorgeous in the brochure! As always! 🙂

    “f you have a fear of looking silly – which I do – taking up cycling is the PERFECT exposure therapy!” – I should try it, then! hahah

  2. Hah… yeah, biking does help one get over the fear of looking silly! I remember the times when I was too ashamed to wear a helmet… now I just wander into Tesco wearing sports gear :p

  3. Hehe, that’s amazing. 🙂 For me, working with children at camp pretty much irradiated any discomfort I had with looking/feeling ridiculous. 😉

    Love the brochure!

Leave a Reply

