Did you know??

Ohio has a monsoon season. Yeah. This was news to me too. Le sigh. We’ve had a seriously stupid amount of rain this month. I’ve only gotten in about three rides in the last two weeks. It hasn’t been warm enough to risk getting caught on my bike in a rainstorm yet, so I haven’t even been taking my hybrid out when there’s rain predicted. I have done some disgruntled cross-training at the OSU fitness center – not because I hate what I do there, just because I hated that I was doing it so much during what should be cycling season! When the weather is nice, I will always choose cycling over working out in a gym, for sure. I’ve also managed to take some nice walks when we’ve had brief breaks in the rain. (That’s right. Come and get me, Vitamin D. I dare you.) It hasn’t been warm enough to risk getting caught on my bike in a rainstorm yet, so I haven’t even been taking my hybrid out when there’s rain predicted. I also had one particularly cranky day where I decided that I’d rather ebay shop for cycling gear than have to workout inside again. I bought a 5.99 used jersey by Patagonia. Let’s just say . . . really, Patagonia?? Whatevs. It was $6, and I guess it’ll be a good back up.

Today, however, was cycling weather!!! It was windy and bit cool for the first ten minutes of my ride, but once the sun came out, life improved. I generally ride on the Olentangy Trail, which runs along the Old-and-tangy Olentangy River. The river was SO high today! However, I was heartened when I made it up to Worthington and under Rte. 315 without hitting any majorly flooded areas.

But then . . .
tragedy.

About a half mile north of that celebratory moment, I stumbled rode upon this:

After conferring with another woman cyclist* who stopped right after me, we decided that it could easily be six inches deep, and we didn’t want to get that sewage overflow river water on our road bikes. We did, however, then get to witness a group of three cyclists who came around the turn way too fast, and almost suffered the domino effect due to stopping short. So, I had to cut my ride a couple of miles short. But, AT LEAST I GOT TO RIDE!!!

In other news, I’ve joined the Friends of Consider Biking team on ridenet, and I’ve been logging my rides. I’ve broken the 100 mile mark this season, which isn’t too shabby, given all of the rain and the fact that I’ve only been back in the saddle for a few weeks! Check out my ridenet profile by clicking here.

* I had no idea the extent to which cycling is a male dominated sport until I started becoming more serious about it. If you’d like an example, pick up any copy of Bicycling magazine ever. Or go to a bike store. Or chill out next to a bike path for a bit. Hence, I get a bit excited when I see other women cyclists out and about!

Leave a Reply

